We form this SIG to enable discussion and collaboration among members interested in socially engaged practice and scholarship as well as in scholarly social action. By participatory we understand creative work that has been the result of a collaboration or concerns co-creation with the community or group to which it is addressed or concerned with. This approach stems out from, but does not limit itself to, the research paradigm known as Participatory Action Research, which regards collaboration with the community as an instrument for positive social change and blurs the boundaries between the researcher/ expert and the community. By socially engaged animation we refer to animations and scholarship that offer a creative commentary on a communal issue in pursuit of social justice. This approach also implies some level of collaboration by the community (e.g. commentary, research, assistance, guidance) and can generate truly participatory projects. The SIG will also foster dialogue and exchanges among practitioners using the animation-making process in both educational and wellness/therapeutic settings and the research associated with those projects.  

SIG Conveener:

Jorgelina Orfila Texas Tech University

SIG Members:

Full Name Affiliation
Debjani Mukherjee IDC School of Design IIT Bombay
Myria Christophini The University of Edinburgh
Ellie Land University of Northumbria
Xavier Gorgol Institut Supérieur Libre des Arts Plastiques  Brussels
Kodi Maier University of Hull
Eva Cvijanovic Independent filmmaker
Marc Russo North Carolina State University
Sam Decoste NSCAD University
Fatemeh Hosseini Tehran Arts University
Becka Barker NSCAD University
Nazli Eda Noyan Bahcesehir University
Mary Smyth Freelancer and Limerick Institute of Technology
Congbo Zhao   Cultural Media Studio CEO  
Pedra Serrazina Universidade Lusofona
Alejandro R. Gonzalez  
Ceiren Bell Goldsmiths, University of London  
Birgitta Hosea University for the Creative Arts
Maike Sarah Reinerth Film University Babelberg KONRAD WOLF
Hagler Juergen Fachhochschule Oberösterreich
Angela Longo   Tokyo University of the Arts  
Deanna Morse   Grand Valley State University, MI  
Francisco Ortega Texas Tech University, TX