The SAS is a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization. It is governed by its Board who appoint and vote for its officers on an annual basis.  Members, interested in a position on the board are welcome to contact us here.  All information pertaining to the running of the Society, including election of officers, can be found in the Society for Animation Studies Bylaws. As a principle of operation, Board Members can serve up to a maximum of five years in their appointed role.

Board members

Role Name Affiliation/Region
Chairperson of the Board Colleen Montgomery Rowan University, USA (Start: 2023)
Co-President Mihaela Mihailova San Francisco State University, USA (Start: 2024)
Co-President Cristina Formenti University of Udine, IT (Start: 2023)
Vice President, Awards Lead Bella Honess Roe University of Surrey, UK (Start: 2023)
Secretary TBA
Treasurer Tim Jones Robert Morris University, USA (Start: 2020)
Student member TBA
Communications Lead Michael J. Meindl Radford University, USA (Start: 2024)
SIG Lead Andy Buchanan Independent Scholar (Start: 2022)


Officers are members of the society that help run the organisation in different capacities.

Role Name Affiliation/Region
Webmaster Timo Linsenmaier DE
Membership Officer Tim Jones Robert Morris University, USA
Newsletter Editor Lilly Husbands Middlesex University, UK
Newsletter Editor Christopher Holliday King’s College London, UK
Historian Charles daCosta Queensland University of Technology, AUS
Awards and Outreach Committee Chair Peter Chanthanakone Zayed University, UAE